Best Handbrake Settings - Please Help!

dnandrew

Is there any chance anyone would be willing to share there setting for software like handbrake or maybe other software depending on what you use, Preferably in a stage by stage set of print screens, I have played around with multiple setting but i can't seem to get the quality and file size where i want it, I am looking for quality and file size along the lines of what E-D and Tanxs manage to do (480p or 720p) (300mb-600mb) I am new to encoding but over the years i have downloaded and stored ????'s of anime and cartoon and now that Cartoon World Forum is gone i would like to upload them as my own.

Thank You in advance i would really appriciate the help.

Edited by dnandrew
  • Like 1

The problem with newbie encoders is that they don't understand that cookie cutter settings aren't good. There is no "one setting for all". What might be excellent for one show will likely look like crap for the next.

E-D on the other hand typically have bloated releases since they want to encode to a strict file size rather than encode for quality. Their releases typically look a little blurred and have loss of detail compared to the source they encoded from.

Tanxs on the other hand tends to be closer to the source with his encoding methods and I believe even uses Handbrake.

One thing to remember is to use CRF. For SD material 18-21 is typically where you wanna be; while for HD material it's 15-18. The higher the CRF; the less bitrate is given, the lower quality it'll become, and the file will be smaller size.

Example: Mini-encoders typically use 23-26 to get their bitrate starved encodes to a size they like.

Next thing is audio. AC3 192 KBPS would be the lowest recommended. Some prefer to use AAC, but even so I would recommend not going below 192 KBPS for best sound. If it's a dvd you're encoding from, might as well use "passthrough" and not encode the lossy audio again.

I can give you the settings I use.