Buying things Online and the problems with that

seirachan

So I recently got a Visa Debit card from my bank. It's not a creditcard it's a debit card. Basicaly I can only buy things online with it using it like a Visa card. It takes the money right from my bank account. However 5 days after my first buy online it took the same amount of money out of my bank account again.. being $60 so I was charged $60 twice. So the first thing I did was phone my bank and they told me that some companys do that when you buy things online and I'll be getting the money back in a few days. But this is a real problem cause what if I didn't have the other $60? What if I bought something for $300 and didn't have another $300? Well I would have been fucked over and gotten a bunch of fees. Why is this even legal? This is just rediculous.

That's BS. I've been using a Debit card online for the last like 5 years and have never seen it double charge like that.

If your bank is serious, then they have no clue what they're doing. Switch banks is all I can recommend.

Contact the site / seller you bought from and let them know you were double charged too and ask for a refund.

That's BS. I've been using a Debit card online for the last like 5 years and have never seen it double charge like that.

If your bank is serious, then they have no clue what they're doing. Switch banks is all I can recommend.

Contact the site / seller you bought from and let them know you were double charged too and ask for a refund.

I sent them an e-mail just to see if my bank was wrong, still waiting on a reply.

I've had a debit card for a fair number of years, and I've never heard of that either. Talking to the company would be the first thing I would do. See if it was just a mistake, or if that's really their policy; if it is, make sure you get your second $60 back, and I wouldn't buy from that company ever again.