lemmingllama Posted February 5, 2012 Report Share Posted February 5, 2012 So I recently had an argument with a friend and I cant seem to find it on the net. So the scenario is that one person is attacking with a 5/5 green trample, and it is blocked by a 2/2 white. This 2/2 is then given protection from green, meaning that the green creature it is blocking cannot kill it. Does the trample damage get soaked up, trample over normally, or does it ignore the monster since it cant kill it and then trample all 5 damage over? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sdtbl13 Posted April 4, 2012 Report Share Posted April 4, 2012 This has probably already been answered elsewhere, but the damage tramples over normally, meaning 3 damage to the player in that scenario. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Faronil Posted April 25, 2012 Report Share Posted April 25, 2012 Normally the damage is completely prevented. That's what my little rulebook says "All damage dealt of the creature is prevented." Maybe it's a bit out to date... I have always played like this and I cant remember that anyone else have ever played different... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
lemmingllama Posted April 27, 2012 Author Report Share Posted April 27, 2012 Yeah, well protection rules seems to have changed. Apparently you cant block a protection from green creature with a green creature now... Really magic was better before they got the new borders... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sdtbl13 Posted April 27, 2012 Report Share Posted April 27, 2012 Alright so to Faronil about the "all damage to that creature is prevented" that is true, but only two damage goes to that creature and the rest would carry over and damage the player. To lemmingllama, the protection rules are now such that protection from a color means unblockable by that color as well. In the original question this wouldn't apply, but if the 5/5 creature had protection from white then there would be no way to block with the white 2/2, regardless of the 2/2's own protections. I hope this clears everything up. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Faronil Posted April 27, 2012 Report Share Posted April 27, 2012 Yeah that's quite a bit confusing with the changing rules in every edition but I checked it up and the damage greater than the toughness is dealt to the player... The rule that a creature with protection cant be blocked by a creature of that color exist already a long time.. I guess that wasn't asked anyway ^^ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Minkseru Posted July 31, 2012 Report Share Posted July 31, 2012 Ok in the scenario previously stated the question is best answer by trample.Trample states that when there are no further monster blocking it the remainder of damage is dealt to the opponent's lifepoints.A creature who is protected from a color takes no damage, can not be blocked by creatures of that color and are untargerted by cards of that color also can not be destroyed by that color persay wrath of god on a pro white creature.So I will hunt down wiki links or just find an m13 reminder text for both of those but I would say 0 damage since the creature itself can't take damage from the trampler. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darvius@msn.com Posted December 16, 2012 Report Share Posted December 16, 2012 The only way the three damage would not go through in this situation would be if the white creature also had deathtouch somehow. Trample damage is applied after normal damage to the creatures, which means that the green creature would die before any trample damage could be calculated. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Minkseru Posted December 16, 2012 Report Share Posted December 16, 2012 um no the statement on trample is clear. (If this creature would assign enough damage to its blockers to destroy them, you may have it assign the rest of its damage to defending player or planeswalker.)and protection says.Protection from *** (This creature can't be blocked, targeted, dealt damage, or enchanted by anything ***.)the damage can not be assigned the damage.ok trample got redone enough to ignore so yes. annoying when rulings change around. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Please sign in to comment
You will be able to leave a comment after signing in
Sign In Now