Jump to content

Search the Community

Showing results for tags '[Ruling]'.



More search options

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


Forums

  • Shinra Headquarters
    • Broadcast Station
    • Feedback & Assistance
    • Media Headlines
  • Discussion Central
    • Anime District
    • Let's Talk Cartoons
    • Manga/Comics
    • Gaming Realm
    • Entertainment
    • Mako Reactor
  • Tantalus Hideout
    • Tech Center
    • Recommendations & Reviews
    • Art and Literature
    • Graphical Division
  • Community Interactive
    • Meet & Greet
    • Balamb Café
    • Forum Games
    • My Two Cents
    • Polls

Find results in...

Find results that contain...


Date Created

  • Start

    End


Last Updated

  • Start

    End


Filter by number of...

Joined

  • Start

    End


Group


Website URL


Skype


AniList


Anime-Planet


Facebook


MyAnimeList


Steam


Trakt.tv

Found 8 results

  1. Well, there's this question that's been bugging me. It's how things would go down if Imperial Iron Wall were already present when Dark Armed Dragon were summoned. Now, the effect of Dark Armed Dragon is to destroy a card by removing from play a card from the Graveyard. Now, in most cases when Imperial Iron Wall is in play, I've seen duelists use effects like "Remove 3 cards in your hand from play" and instead send it to the Graveyard. Now, the question is this - If Imperial Iron Wall is in play, can I just destroy a card on the field even though i can't Banish a card from my Grave?
  2. Table of contents: 1. Introduction 2. I found an error in your list... 3. I think it would be good if you'd add... 4. General Rulings 4.1 Missing the timing 4.2 Simultaneous Effects Go On Chain 4.3 How do I know if an effect targets? 4.4 Chains vs trigger effects vs priority 4.5 Respond to/Negate a Summon 4.6 Xyz monsters and their overlays 4.7 Switching Phases 4.8 How can I find out if the card text is a cost or an effect? 4.9 Sending cards to the grave vs Destruction/Discard 4.10 Destruction vs Negation 4.11 How to properly negate a Special Summon 4.12 Destroyed by battle vs destroyed by battle and sent to the graveyard 4.13 Activating your cards effects when the opponent controls them 4.14 Ignoring the Summoning Conditions 4.15 Breakdown of the Battle Phase 4.16 Negate the activation of a card vs negate the activation of an effect of a card [*]5. Card Rulings 5.1 Archlord Krystia and Lava Golem 5.2 Gozen Match/Rivalry of Warlords 5.3 Huge difference: Skill Drain vs Veiler/Chalice/Debris/etc 5.3a Skill Drain - what it actually does 5.4 Dark World effects 5.5 Celri, Monk of Dark World, how does he work exactly? 5.6 Stardust Dragon: What he can and can't negate 5.7 Shrink 5.8 Blackwing Gale and Inverse Universe 5.9 Sun Dragon Inti and Moon Dragon Quilla 5.10 Ryko, Lightsworn Hunter 5.11 Future Fusion 5.12 Dragunity Aklys 5.13 Meklords [*]6. I saw some "Previously Official Rulings" on some of your links... [*]7. You used "banish"/some other words I've never heard of...? [*]ToDo list, Thanks to, Version History 1. Introduction In this thread I want to clear up many confusing rulings of either single cards, card groups or even general stuff which is not easy to understand. In general, all I want to do here is to collect difficult rulings and help you to understand those. I also hope to cover as much commonly misplayed things as possible. I hope it helps you get a quick answer to what you and your opponent might be arguing about without disrupting a sleeping ... eh, I mean busy admin :clown: 2. I found an error in your list... I'm only human and despite getting help, we are not safe from mistakes. If you want to report one or just make a suggestion for better spelling please do it like this: - State in which section the error is and describe it. - Should I have explained something wrong please provide a link to a source which says otherwise. - I'll put links to everything I find links to. If there is a link to a source missing anywhere and you know where to find it, please state it. And if you find a better link than the one I stated, please let me know. 3. I think it would be good if you'd add... You've got a commonly misplayed ruling which is not stated here yet? Please do the following: - Make sure there isn't something similar here yet. I definitely wont state a ruling like "can I summon Lava Golem by tributing an opponents Jowgen the Spiritualist?" when I've already covered "can I summon Lava Golem by tributing an opponents Archlord Kristya?" What? Definitely not here yet? Great, now do this: - State the card/group of cards/situation you often run into and the issue that occurs. - If you know a source where the right ruling is stated, please link to it. I'd prefer not having to search it myself, sometimes my time is limited 4. General Rulings General good to know stuff is covered here. If you don't find stuff which you find worth mentioning, please let us know. 4.1 Missing the timing Link: Wikia - Missing the Timing It is already good explained in the link above, so I'll give you a short summary. - You miss the timing when the last thing that happened is not what triggers the effect. Example: You tribute "Naturia Cliff" to tribute Summon "Naturia Bamboo Shoot". Cliff will miss the timing since the last thing happening was summoning Bamboo and not Cliff being sent to the Graveyard. - Only "when... you can" optional trigger monster effects can miss the timing. All other trigger monster effects activate as soon as the current chain has finished resolving. - Spell and Trap cards which need a specific action to happen in order for their effects to activate can miss the timing. Example: If you have 3 "Heart of the Underdog" and the drawn card for chain link 1 is not a normal monster, even if you drew a normal monster in between for chain link 2 and/or 3 you may not draw again. 4.2 Simultaneous Effects Go On Chain Link: Wikia - SEGOC This is often just called SEGOC. It describes the way chain links are made when multiple trigger effects activate at the same time. You just have to follow this order: 1. Turn Player's Mandatory Effects 2. Non-Turn Player's Mandatory Effects 3. Turn Player's Optional Effects 4. Non-Turn Player's Optional Effects If multiple effects are in the same category the player who owns those effects can choose to build the chain links in any order he/she wants. A chain which attempts to be built this way can't be interrupted by any other effect. Example: "Goldd, Wu-Lord of Dark World" and "Sillva, Warlord of Dark World" are discarded both by "Card Destruction". The player chooses to put "Sillva, Warlord of Dark World" as chain link 1 therefore placing "Goldd, Wu-Lord of Dark World" as link 2. Because of this, you can not negate the effect of Silva with "Solemn Warning". The only thing you can do is negate Goldd's effect. TCG exclusive If multiple triggers want to activate at the same time you must put the trigger which was triggered first in the lower chain link. Please note the difference between the timing an effect triggers and the timing he activates. Example 1: You tribute "Sangan" to summon "Caius the Shadow Monarch". Both are activated after "Caius the Shadow Monarch" is summoned successfully. But "Sangan" is triggered before "Caius the Shadow Monarch", so he must be chain link 1. His trigger is when it is sent to the grave, which happens before "Caius the Shadow Monarch" triggers, upon the successful summon. Example 2: You have "Dandylion" and "Sangan" face up on the field. Your opponent activates "Card Destruction" and discards 2 "The Fabled Catsith". Both are activated and triggered at the same time. Now your opponent chooses to destroy "Dandylion" with the "The Fabled Catsith" on chain link 2 and "Sangan" with chain link 1. Now both of your monsters activate, but you must put "Dandylion" as chain link 1 because it was sent to the grave before "Sangan". 4.3 How do I know if an effect targets? Link: Wikia - Target, Pojo - The Big Grand List of Things that Target I'm sure you don't always want to get to that huge list on Pojo above just to figure out if an effect targets or not. But it's good to have, isn't it? Well, if you want to find out if an effect targets just follow these steps: - Does the effect tell you to select, target or designate something? Then it usually targets. - Is the effect an equip spell card? Then it definitely targets. - Does the effect affect a players hand? Then it never targets. - Cards in the deck/extra deck can't be targeted, so card that affect these areas also don't target anything in these areas. Additional information: When an effect targets the things affected by it are chosen at effect activation. Example: You summon "Caius the Shadow Monarch" and declare a card of your opponent as a target. Then your opponent can chain something if he has anything. If the targeted card is a Spell/Trap and the timing is right he can chain it. Note that this card is still banished after it resolves since it stays on the field until the whole chain finished resolving. So it is still on the field to be banished for the effect of "Caius the Shadow Monarch". When an effect does not target but needs you to choose things that will be affected by it, those are chosen at effect resolution. Example: You Syncrho Summon "Trishula, Dragon of the Ice Barrier" and activate its effect. Now your opponent can chain to it. When "Trishula, Dragon of the Ice Barrier" resolves you choose and banish your choices at the same time. 4.4 Chains vs trigger effects and priority Link: Wikia - Chain, Wikia - Chains, Activation and Resolution, Wikia - Trigger Effect If you don't find what you are searching for below you might also look at SEGOC or Missing the timing. I've seen a lot of people recently who believe, that trigger effects simply go off, even in the middle of something. Please let me tell you: It is not like that... Here I'll talk about effects that can't miss the timing, be sure to check that section above if you have "when ... you can" optional trigger effects. To explain when exactly trigger go off let's start with an example: You activate "Magical Stone Excavation" and discard "The Fabled Cerburrel" as the cost. Now you return a Spell Card to your hand (=resolve "Magical Stone Excavation"). Then the Trigger activates and special summons Cerburrel. As you can see, a trigger does not automatically chain. If there is already a chain in progress when the condition is met (= when the effect is triggered) the effect waits until the chain finished resolving before it is activated. So, what about priority? Example 1: You summon a monster with 1400 or less attack with an Ignition effect while your opponent has "King Tiger Wanghu" on the field. You can't use your ignition effect since chain link 1 is automatically used by the "King Tiger Wanghu" triggering. Example 2: Same as 1, except that you summon a monster with a trigger effect (lets take "Caius the Shadow Monarch" weakened by 2 "Burden of the Mighty" for example). According to SEGOC "Caius the Shadow Monarch" activates as chain link 1 and "King Tiger Wanghu" as chain link 2. As you can see, trigger effects automatically begin a chain without you being able to activate anything else first. 4.5 Respond to/Negate a Summon Link: Wikia - Respond, Wikia - Negate First things first: If anyone says anything about Bottomless negating a summon again I'll murder a kitten...! If a card negates something it'll say that on its card text! Nothing special to say here, but people tend to forget it quite easily: Respond to a summon is different from negating a summon. The latter makes the monsters never hitting the field and as such they are never being able to activate their on field effects. Also cards that trigger their effects on summoning never activate them. To respond to a summon means, that the monster is already successful summoned, with all consequences. To respond to a summon also means, that the whole chain which is made then is treated as "response". So you could have your responded Bottomless chained by "My Body as a Shield" and you can chain "Torrential Tribute" to it. 4.6 Xyz monsters and their overlays Link: Sticky about XYZ rulings here on DN, Duelingdays - Xyz Rules update, Wikia - Xyz Summon Just use the red link to see how to properly play them. Pay attention in which format you play since there is a huge difference between OCG and TCG. There is nothing to explain why, that are the basics of every Xyz. 4.7 Switching Phases Link: Wikia - Draw Phase, Wikia - Standby Phase, Wikia - Main Phase 1, Wikia - End Phase What you can do in each phase should be quite obvious, so I'll go straight to the point why I write about this: The phase can't be ended until both players agree to do so! This also applies to sub-steps of the phases (for example the Battle Step in the Battle Phase). Why am I telling you this? Does that matter? Yes, here are some examples which are commonly played wrong because the opponent says "you can't do this": 1) You can summon "Treeborn Frog", tribute it for your "Enemy Controller" and summon him in the same Standby Phase again. 2) You can summon "Stardust Dragon", tribute it to negate your opponents "Bottomless Trap Hole" and Summon him again in the same End Phase. 3) You can activate as many cards as you like during the Draw Phase of either players turn as long as the activation timing is correct. If you want to end your phase and your opponent does something you can choose to stay. Examples: 1) You want to switch to your Battle Phase. Your opponent says something like "wait" and activated "Effect Veiler"/"Threatening Roar"/etc at the end of your Main Phase. You can choose to stay in your Main Phase 1. 2) You want to switch to your Battle Phase. Your opponent activates the effect of "Formula Synchron" and Synchro Summons "Black Rose Dragon" to blow up your field. Now you can choose to stay in your Main Phase to ... whatever option you have 4.8 How can I find out if the card text is a cost or an effect? Link: Wikia - Cost, Wikia - Maintenance Cost When you see some of the cards printed lately it is actually very easy, just follow the new card text. But most of the time you just do not know. Here are some tips to find it out easily, however please note, that they may not necessarily apply to older, un-errataed cards: - When you see the term "do this to do something else" it is usually a cost. Please note, that there are a few exceptions to this, such as in case of early releases of "Depth Amulet" but those will state that in their rulings. - When you see the term "do this and/then do something else" it is usually not a cost. A good example for this is "Fabled Raven". - When something is written after the effect it is usually also an effect, even it is something you usually see as a cost. A good example for this is "Dark World Dealings". 4.9 Sending cards to the grave vs Destruction/Discard Link: Wikia - Send, Wikia - Destroy, Wikia - Discard Some people tend to think, that sending cards to the Graveyard is the same as Destruction/Discarding. Let me tell you the differences: - Sending cards from the field to the Graveyard does not trigger effects that happen when destroyed. You can safely use "Ojama Tokens" as synchro material without taking damage. - You can not negate cards that send to the Graveyard with effects like "Stardust Dragon" or "My Body as a Shield". You can safely send you opponents "Stardust Dragon" to the grave with "Dark End Dragon". - Sending cards from the hand to the Graveyard does not trigger Fabled or Dark World effects, only discarding them does. So, "Hand Destruction" is useless with them. - Virus cards can also destroy in the hand. Example: If "Crush Card Virus" is activated and there is Light and Darkness Dragon or "Sacred Phoenix of Nephthys" in the hand it will trigger their effects. - Cards in the Deck can not be destroyed or discarded (the text of Needle Worm is outdated). - Cards in the Extra Deck can be destroyed. 4.10 Destruction vs Negation Link: Wikia - Destroy, Wikia - Negate Yes I have to do this, far too much people still think that they could chain MST to your "Mirror Force" to negate it... which is totally wrong of course, you really have to use a card that NEGATES it in order to... negate it^^ In general cards do NOT need to be face up on the field for their effects to resolve properly. That is the first you have to keep in mind. Then you can sort out the minority exceptions to that rule. Note that the effects are still not negated, they only resolve without doing anything: - All continuous cards, Field Spells and Equip Cards need to remain face-up in order for their effects to resolve properly. - Monsters whose effects apply to themselves. - A few cards which don't fit in those categories and state in their rulings that they have to stay face up. Keep in mind, that a card that negates also actually states that it negates. So cards like the Reactors only destroy, they don't negate. 4.11 How to properly negate a Special Summon Link: Wikia - Special Summon, Wikia - rulings Solemn Judgment Much people still don't know how to properly negate a Special Summon. I hope to be able to clear up things here. First of all, the summoning procedure. Lets say, you want to Special Summon "Red-Eyes Darkness Metal Dragon. First, pay the cost (banish a face up Dragon), then the player attempts to place it on the field. Before actually hitting the field there is this... I'll call it "summon negation window". Cards like both "Solemn Warning" and "Solemn Judgment" as well as "Royal Oppression" can be activated here. Now if your opponent does not wish to activate anything in this window, your monster is considered to be Special Summoned successfully. Note that a monster which summon is negated has never hit the field. So cards like Tengu don't get their effects. Any "special summon only monster" (monsters with the term "This card can't be normal summoned or set. This card can only be special summoned by [...]") and anything from the extra deck can't be special summoned from the grave. When a Special Summon through an effect occurs (such as a Special Summon resulting from the resolution of "Monster Reborn" or the effect of a resolving "Plaguespreader Zombie") the effect is activated and the costs are paid. Then, when it finished resolving the monster is successfully Special Summoned. Note, that the "summon negation window" can't be used here, because when the effect finished resolving the monster is already Special Summoned successfully. That window takes place in the middle of the resolution of a chain, you can not activate anything as a chain is trying to resolve. You must negate the activation of the card the effect comes that the summon will be resolving from. So, what does this mean regarding some cards? - "Solemn Judgment" as well as "Thunder King Rai-Oh" and similar cards can not be used to negate effects that Special Summon (such as "Gorz, the Emissary of Darkness"). The best thing "Solemn Judgment" can do is negate a Spell/Trap that Special Summons. - Cards such as "Solemn Warning" and "Royal Oppression" also can negate effects that Special Summon, but they actually must use it on the effect. Once an effect begins resolving it is too late to negate the summon resolving from that card. Now you might ask: How do I differ a inherent Special Summon from a Special Summon with an effect? Take these steps: 1) If the monster is Xyz/Synchro Summoned (not with the effect of "Formula Synchron"!) or Special summoned only in the Main Phase due to a way written on its card text it is inherently Special Summoned. 1a) The one and only exception here is "Dark Simorgh" whose Special Summon is treated as an ignition effect for some strange reason... most probably BKSS. 1b) For those who ask, you can also tell that something like Meklords or TG Warwolf is a trigger by looking at those card texts (they also could be summoned in a phase other than main). 2) If a monster from point 1 has also the ability to Special Summon itself from the Graveyard (such as "Machina Fortress") it is still considered an inherent Special Summon. 3) If a monster can be Special Summoned from the Graveyard/Banished zone by a way written on its text (like "Plaguespreader Zombie") it is an effect Special Summon. 3a) The only exception to this is Grapha whose ss from the grave is ruled as an inherent Special Summon. 4) Ritual/Fusion Summons (except Contact Fusion) all occur due to a card effect (the Ritual Spell/Fusion Card). Note, that none of those cards have a cost regarding Ritual/Fusion materials, so if the effect is negated nothing is sent to the grave. 4.12 Destroyed by battle vs destroyed by battle and sent to the Graveyard Link: Wikia - Destroyed by battle, Wikia - rulings Shura While those 2 terms sound quite similar they have some important differences. Let me first start with the side of the destroyed monster. Here it is easy, there is only 1 difference: - when a monster only needs to be destroyed by battle it also triggers outside of the graveyard (for example in the banished zone), while monsters like "Giant Rat" must be sent to the grave for their effects to trigger. On the other side there is more. Of course the difference from above also applies here, but beside this monsters that need to sent their opponents to the grave must stay face up on the field (like Shura) and the others don't care (like "Blue Thunder T-45"). That means that the effect doesn't activate at those situations: - when the monsters destroy each other - when destroyed by flip effects like Ryko - when flipped face down after damage calculation (e.g. "Desertapir") - when banished by "D.D. Warrior" Note, that such a monsters effect will activate when destroyed by cards like "Michizure" who destroy at the end of the damage step. 4.13 Activating your cards effects when the opponent controls them It is simple logic here, but some people still don't seem to know it. So... lets start with the most simple one: - when an opponent takes your monster he can use any effect that activates on the field to his favor. Really, every effect. Now that was easy huh? Where a few have difficulties is this fact: - when your monster has an effect that triggers somewhere else and you destroy it you'll get the trigger. That is because the monster activates in your graveyard and not on the opponents side of the field. Also quite logical, isn't it? The reason why this is here in the first place is, that people sometimes have difficulties to differ effect that still activate on the field and effects that activates somewhere else. Here are some phrases that will tell you, that the effect activates not on the field: - when this card is destroyed - when this card is removed from the field ... yes, that's all. I'm sure you'll easily recognize them now. 4.14 Ignoring the Summoning Conditions Link: Wikia - Ignoring the Summoning Conditions, Wikia - rulings Level Modulation Cards with this term let you special summon a monster which usually can't be special summoned. An example for this is "Ultimate Ancient Gear Golem" which lets you special summon an "Ancient Gear Golem" when it is destroyed. Note however that most cards that use this term are used to special summon Nomi monsters. That are monsters which card texts say the following: "This card cannot be Normal Summoned or Set. This card cannot be Special Summoned except by [...]". Note, that the text of the latest released cards might state something like the "Meklord Emperor Wisel": "Cannot be Normal Summoned or Set. Must be Special Summoned by its own effect, and cannot be Special Summoned by other ways. [...]" For monsters like this it is ruled, that they must be special summoned properly by the way written on the card if you want to special summon them with a card that ignores summoning conditions. For example, you CAN NOT special summon a Horus LV8 with "Level Modulation" if it was sent to the grave directly from the deck/hand or if it was special summoned with the effect of Level Up. Speaking of Level Up, that restriction above only applies to the grave of course. Else Level Up would be totally useless^^ 4.15 Breakdown of the Battle Phase Link: Wikia - Breakdown of the Battle Phase I'll list here what happens in the Battle Phase as short as possible. If you need further explanation and examples please see the link above. Note that the turn player has also his priority here to activate effects before the opponent can respond. Also you should note, that there is the possibility to start as many chains as you like in each step except if stated otherwise. 1) Start Step: This is the step you enter after declaring that you enter the Battle Phase. Usually nothing special happens here, except that this is the last chance for you to use "Book of Moon" or the like on a monster with an Ancient Gear effect. The turn player doesn't need to declare an attack and can jump directly to Main Phase 2 from here. 2) Battle Step: 2a) Attack Declaration: The turn player declares an attack. Cards like "Mirror Force" and D Prison can be activated here. There can only be 1 chain here, but note that the whole chain is in response to the attack. There is nothing wrong when the D Prison is chain link 2 or higher. 2b) Before Damage Step: The possibility for activating D Prison etc is gone, but you can still activate cards like "Book of Moon" here that can't be activated in the Damage Step. 3) Damage Step: Cards that can be activated here: counter traps, quick monster effects that negate something, effects that increase/decrease att/def and cards that state that they have to be activated response to an action in this step. If something causes the battling monsters to disappear between sub-step 1 and 4 no damage is inflicted and no replay occurs. 3a) Sub-step 1 - Start: First apply continous effects (Jain/Steamroid) and then trigger effects (Mole/Catastor). Effects like "Sasuke Samurai" activate here and destroy the monster face down. 3b) Sub-step 2 - Flipping face up: Here the attacked monsters are flipped face up when they where face down before. When the monster has a continuous effect (Jinzo/Star Boy) it is applied. However flip effects (Ryko/Hane Hane) or pseudo flip effects (Nightmare Penguin/Fossil Dyna Pachycephalo) and continuous effects that cause destruction (earthbound immortal without field spell) are applied later. 3c) Sub-step 3 - Before Damage Calculation: This is the last chance to activate cards which increase/decrease att/def and which can't be activated at Damage Calculation (Shrink/Horn of the Phantom Beast/Forbidden Lance/Forbidden Challice). This is also the time where effect light Drillroid and Ehren activate. This is also the time where effects like Blast Sphere/Kiseitai activate. The effects of cards like Yubel and Reflect Bounder also activate here. 3d) Sub-step 4 - Damage Calculation: Here the damage is calculated and inflicted. First continuous effects are applied (Skyscaper). Cards like Honest/Kalut can be activated here then. After that continuous effects look again if they can be applied (for example if an E-Hero attacks and suddenly is at disadvantage due to Honest). There is only 1 chain possible here. 3e) Sub-step 5 - After Damage Calculation: The continuous effects mentioned in Sub-step 2 are applied here. Effects that activate after damage is inflicted activate here (Reaper/Kycoo). Effects that mention "after Damage Calculation" like RDA activate here. Effects like "Damage = Reptile" activate here. 3f) Sub-step 6 - Resolve Effects: Now flip effects or pseudo flip effects mentioned in Sub-step 2 activate. Continuous effects of monsters that are considered to be destroyed by battle stop working. Effects like "D.D. Warrior Lady" and "Wall of Illusion" activate here. Sub-step 7 - End of the Damage Step: Monsters are now sent to the grave (or banished zone). Effects that require the monster to destroy by battle (Shura), to be destroyed by battle (Giant Rat) and/or sent to the grave (Naturia Cliff) activate here. Counters are removed from Cards like B.E.S. and "Des Mosquito". Cards like "Michizure" can be activated. Cards like Ancient Gear Engineer activate here. 4.16 Negate the activation of a card vs negate the activation of an effect of a card Link: Wikia - rulings Geartown Much people seem to have difficulties to differ that. Ok, in most situations that doesn't matter at all, but there are some things where that becomes really important. A good example for such a thing is Geartown. As you know, when it is destroyed and sent to the grave you can Summon an Ancient Gear Monster. But what makes this effect so special? - That effect doesn't take place when the card is activated. So cards like Warning or Oppression can't be activated. - When its effect activates in the grave, only the effect of the card activates, not the card itself. Now that is interesting, since that is not a card activation you have to pay a really close look to the effects that negate cards. Lets have a look at the most popular ones: - Solemn Warning/Judgement: "[...]Negate [...] the activation or a Spell Card, Trap Card or Effect Monster's effect [...]" Note what I colored here. It can negate the activation of a s/t card but NOT the activation of the effect of a s/t card. So they can't stop the summon of Geartown at all. The "effect" only refers to monster effects here, not s/t effects. - Royal Oppression: "[...] to negate [...] an Effect that special summons [...]" Oppression is better here. It can also negate the activation of effects and since that is not limited to monster effects according to the card text it can also stop the effect of Geartown. Other common cards you could run into with this: - Stardust Dragon: According to the text it can only negate the activation of cards but that is a mistranslation. It can also negate the effects of any card. So it could negate an already face up Oppression when it tries to negate your "Monster Reborn". - Ultimate Offering: Unlike most s/t cards the player is not forced to activate the effect at activation of the card. So he can activate it without paying 500 and wait for you to you chain something like seven tools. He can also activate the card outside of his main or your battle phase, that restriction only refers to the effect activation. - Blast with Chain: Stardust can negate its destruction effect when it is destroyed while equipped. 5. Card Rulings Here you can find individual cards. If you don't find the card you are looking for try to find another with a similar effect. 5.1 Archlord Kristya and Lava Golem Link: Wikia - rulings Kristya, Wikia - rulings Lava Golem If you want further explanation on the rulings Stated in Kristyas link please ask. I think they are pretty obvious, so I'll only explain some common mistake with Krystia and "Lava Golem". First, the ruling I wanted to show: Just replace Jowgen with Kristya, it is the same. Why can't you tribute that monster to special summon "Lava Golem"?The reason for this is, that you can't attempt to begin with the procedure. As with all the other tributes for tribute summons or special summons this is a cost. But you can't pay a cost for a procedure you aren't allowed to attempt in the first place. That is similar as with Jinzo and traps. You are not allowed to activate them, so you are not allowed to flip them up and pay their cost. 5.2 Gozen Match/Rivalry of Warlords Link: Wikia - rulings Gozen, Wikia - rulings Rivalry Now those 2 are annoying. They not only put most of your opponents in trouble, they are also very confusing. I hope I can put it easy by just saying that the reason for most of the "you can't do that" rulings are the same as with Kristya vs Lava Golem: You are not allowed to attempt to summon in the first place, so you can't tribute/send monsters to the grave to summon your bosses. Another interesting thing is, that monsters who are not affected by traps (like E-Hero Wildheart or Monsters under the protection of Tyrants Temper) are affected by them. This is because the only thing those 2 Traps do is creating a condition on the field and not affecting the monsters directly. Now to summarize what you are allowed and NOT allowed to do while either of these are on the field: - you may NOT normal/tribute/special summon a monster with a different attribute/type then a face up monster you control - you may normal set/tribute set/special set (for example with "The Shallow Grave") a monster of any attribute/type - if you have a face up monster other than dark/fiend you may NOT special summon trap eater by sending Gozen/Rivalry to the grave - when "Zombie World" and Rivalry are in play you may NOT normal/tribute/special summon any monsters other than zombies because they are not zombie type outside of the field. But you CAN special summon anything from the grave, that is also affected by Zombie World - the same as above also applies when the Traps "DNA Surgery"/DNA Transplant are on the field with Rivalry/Gozen, except the part with the grave of course - the effect of Gozen/Rivalry causes monsters to be sent to the grave. That is no destruction, so cards like Red Nova Dragon are not save from them if you not choose to keep dark/dragon and stardust/my body as a shield can't negate them - "not affected by traps" does NOT protect monsters from the condition those 2 place on the field - when a Glatiator wants to tag out the player can only activate the effect if he has a gladiator with the same type/attribute in his deck. But when the effect resolves and there is no other monster on his field he can summon whatever he wants. - same as above with Lonefire when Gozen Match is active. They can summon Dandy or bulb or whatever but they can't activate the effect when there is no other Fire/Plant in the deck. 5.3 Huge difference: Skill Drain vs Veiler/Chalice/Debris/etc Link: Wikia - rulings Skill drain, Wikia - rulings Effect Veiler, Wikia - rulings Debris Dragon, Wikia - rulings Forbidden Chalice What, there is a difference? Yes, both negate monster effects, but the former actually does less than the latter. Basically you can say that Skill Drain checks where the monster is at effect resolution while all the other check where the monster is at effect activation. Remember, it doesn't matter where the monster is, effects always activate and resolve in the same place. So cards like Lonefire, Stardust, Exiled Force, etc all activate and resolve on the field. To understand that better, here are some examples and an important quote from the rulings page: So, if your opponent decides to not use his priority (for whatever reason^^) you can respond to the summon of this monster with veiler to shut it down. That also applies to all other monsters that tribute themselves as a cost. I hope you understand why it is like that from the explanation above. Now for some examples:1) While Stardust isn't affected by Skill Drain, use Veiler/etc on him. Now you can safely kill it with stuff that destroys. 2) "Dandylion"/"Giant Rat"/etc aren't affected by either of them, their effects activate in the grave. 3) Use example 1 on any of Lonefire/Exiled Force/Hand of the six/etc (only possible if they don't activate the effects with priority to tribute themselves) to leave your opponent with a weak helpless monster on the field. 5.3a Skill Drain - what it actually does Wikia - rulings Skill drain I couldn't believe it first, but there are so many players who don't understand the mechanics of Skill Drain. So let me explain: From the text it should be clear, that Skill Drain negates all effects from Monsters on the field. However it can't stop effect from being activated. For example, even if Card Troopers effect is negated he can still activate its effect and mill 3 cards as a cost. And since it is a continuous effect that only works while the monsters are actually on the field there are things that it can't negate: - Monster effects that activate outside of the field (Tengu, Rat, Honest, Veiler, D.D. Survivor) are completely unaffected by it. - Monsters can "escape" that effect even if their effect activates on the field by leaving the field as a cost. So cards like Thunder King (the "negate special summon" effect), Lonefire or Stardust are unaffected by it. 5.4 Dark World effects Link: Wikia - rulings Goldd (scroll down to see overall DW rulings) What I want to clear up here is the behavior of second effects of dark world monsters, since those are played wrong so often. But first lets clear up also a common mistake: Dark World monster cards wont trigger when they are discarded as a cost, carefully read the card text! Also, please read how you can recognize a cost. I don't want to see anybody trying to activate a dark world card with "The Tricky" or "Reigeki Break" ever again^^ Now that that is clear we'll come to the complicated stuff. Something you urgently have to know about it: the second dark world effects are included in the same chain link as the summon. To know that already clears up much confusion. Now to the rulings: - the summon and the second effect of dark world cards don't happen at the same time, but still in the same chain link. The effect activated at any discard will happen before the second effect. - Bottomless/Torrential can't be activated when Goldd/Silva are summoned with their second effects since those are the last thing to happen and not the summon. The timing for those traps are missed. You also can't use BoM/anything else on them since it is the same chain link. - if the first effect can't resolve (for example you activated scapegoat before Silva/Goldd got discarded or Rei-Oh is on the field when Snow is discarded) the second effect also can't resolve. - it is not unusual to have multiple triggers at the same time (morphing jar/card destruction). All dark world effects are mandatory, so you can freely arrange the order of the chain links according to SEGOC. 5.5 Celri, Monk of Dark World, how does he work exactly? Link: Wikia - rulings Celri So many people get confused by this card. Either they think that they must discard or they even question if there is any discard. Now lets follow its procedure step by step: 1) You discard it, doesn't matter how (so far, so easy). 2) Now it is summoned to the opponents side of the field. 3) Now it activates its discard effect. And it does so successfully since it was summoned by itself. Its name contains "dark world" so it is a dark world card. Also, it activates after it is special summoned, so it activates while already on the field of your opponent. Since "the opponent" must discard, the opponent of that cards controller must discard. That is you 4) Be happy while abusing your dark worlds second effects, since the effect to discard comes from your opponent. 5.6 Stardust Dragon: What he can and can't negate Link: Wikia - rulings Stardust His card text seems not clear enough, or people are just too lazy to read... or there are really some situations where it can become confusing. At least I can say it is made wrong so often, it isn't funny anymore. So here some points, if necessary with examples to (hopefully) make everything clear: - He can only negate the destruction on the field. If "Royal Oppression" wants to negate a synchro summon/REDMD special summon from the hand/The Tricky/etc they are not on the field and so stardust can't do anything against their destruction. - However he can negate Oppression when a s/t is played that would special summon or when REDMD wants to special summon another Dragon. Those are on the field when their effects activate. - He can't negate "Deck Devastation Virus" if you don't have a face up monster with 1500 or less attack when the card is activated. A face down monster can't be confirmed to be that. - The same idea comes with "Eradicator Epidemic Virus", when you don't have a face up Card of the declared type you can't negate it. Of course, you could chain one, but as all cards that negate Stardust must be chained directly to the card it tries to negate. So it would already be too late here. - If the destruction in uncertain you can't negate it. Example: You can't negate "Magical Dimension" since the destruction effect is optional. 5.7 Shrink Link: Wikia - rulings Shrink Now this one is interesting. It is very complicated. The effect of this card halves the original attack of the target. Well, in most cases it rather sets the monsters attack to half of its original attack instead of only halving the original attack. What the card text doesn't say is its effect on some effect monster who gain attack or set their original attack by an effect. You really have to pay close attention if the affected monster only gains attack or sets its original attack to something. You also have to pay attention if that effect is continuously applied or just a trigger at summon or something like that. That confuses players almost every time. Now lets start: - when the effect of shrink wears off the monsters attack will be set to their original attack. - when a monster is affected that has its original attack set by an effect, then that value is taken to calculate shrink. Example: "Evil Hero Dark Gaia" is summoned with 4500 attack. When Shrink resolved its attack is 2250. In the end phase it goes back to 4500. - when a monster is affected that has an attack increase continuously applied it will set the monsters attack to its original attack/2 and the continuous effect lets the monster gain attack again. Example: E-Hero The Shining will have its attack set to 1300 and the continuous attack increase is applied. In the end phase it gets to 2600 again and also adds it bonus attack. - when a monster has an attack increase not continuously applied (e.g. honest) that increase is lost after shrink resolves. In the end phase it is not reapplied. Example: "Copy Cat" gets 3000 attack with its effect. Shrink now sets its attack to halve of the original attack which is 0. It also doesn't gain that attack back. - similar to the ruling above, decreases not continuously applied get also lost (e.g. Black Garden). They also don't come back. Example: Blue Eyes attacks "Reptilianne Gorgon", its effect make Blue Eyes attack 0. Now Shrink is used on him which makes its attack 1500 (half the original). In the end phase its attack will return to 3000. 5.8 Blackwing Gale and Inverse Universe Link: Wikia - rulings Inverse Universe, Wikia - rulings Gale Just like "Shrink" those do more then the text states. Lets start with Gale, unlike Shrink his attack affects the current attack, not the original attack. Also his effect doesn't vanish after the turn ends. What he is also able to do: 1) set the affected monsters values to half permanently (until the monster is removed from the field or flipped face down). 2) monsters whose attack is set by their effects or others will not change the value they are set to. E.g. Uria wont gain any additional attack when more traps are sent to the grave. A monster with "United we Stand" wont gain additional attack with more monsters on the field. 3) the effect stacks. You can simply use it a second time on the same monster next turn to half the values again. "Inverse Universe" can also do some bad things with monsters values. Basically its 1) and 2) from above. This card switches the attack and def values and set them to the amount they are. For example, a breaker with a counter has then 1000 attack and 1900 def. Those values wont change even if the counter is removed. Or you can activate that card with "Tragoedia" and a full hand. Then he wont decrease in att/def if you loose hand cards. 5.9 Sun Dragon Inti and Moon Dragon Quilla Link: Wikia - rulings Sun Dragon, Wikia - rulings Moon Dragon Those 2 are great, they revive each other over and over again. The problem here, while the moon can revive the sun right away the sun does that with the moon in your next standby phase. Eh... did I say problem? I mean wonderful, that fact may got him this ruling: Now to the problem, what happens when both are destroyed at the same time? Well, the above ruling should answer everything regarding this. Moon Dragon activates and special summons Sun Dragon as usual. Then Sun Dragon doesn't care where he is, he just revives the Moon Dragon in your next standby phase. 5.10 Ryko, Lightsworn Hunter Link: Wikia - rulings Ryko After arguing the thirteenth time about Ryko's milling being a cost or not I had to make this. First, we know that destruction is an optional effect, you can choose to activate it or not. So far, so clear. But now, here comes the surprise to most of you... well, at least to those of you who think that milling is a cost. It is not! There is no specific ruling that tells us whether that is a cost or not, but there are some other rulings and facts that will tell you that indirectly: 1) Milling occurs after the destruction, costs never do occur after an effect. 2) While "Dimension Fortress Weapon" is on the field Ryko can still destroy, but does not mill. An effect can't occur without paying the costs. 3) If you have 2 or less cards in your deck you still mill them. Costs can't be "half paid". I hope you know now, that Ryko's milling is just a mandatory effect, not a cost. And that also means you don't mill when the effect is negated by "Skill Drain", "Divine Wrath" or anything else. 5.11 Future Fusion Link: Wikia - rulings Future Fusion Many of you might ask something like "can I use Warning on Future Fusion since it doesn't summon right away or it is the same as with "Infernity Launcher"?" or other Questions like that. Well, let me clear that up: - You can't use Fusion Substitute Monsters because they don't have an effect in the Deck. However you can still use something like "King of the Swamp" for the water part of Absolute Zero or similar things. - Only when "Chain Material" is activated you may use monsters outside of the deck. - Note, that you may not use Fusion Materials from the Extra Deck, even not with Chain Material. - You can activate Future Fusion in the same turn in which you activated "Pot of Duality" or other things that prevent you from special summoning. - When something is on the field that prevents you from summoning certain monsters (like Koa'ki Meiru Drago or Barrier Statues) you can't choose those at activation. - When such cards as mentioned in the last point are placed on the field after Future Fusions activation and they are still there in the 2nd Standby Phase you can't summon the monster. - You can activate Oppression/Warning in chain to Future Fusions activation. The special summon does not start a chain, so you can't activate Oppression in the 2nd Standby Phase to negate it. 5.12 Dragunity Aklys Link: Wikia - rulings Aklys The reason for this card being here is that constant arguing about in what situations Aklys activates and in what it doesn't. The reason why this card won't activate when destroyed is, that it is destroyed by game mechanics and not while equipped. That applies in the following situations: - When destroyed by battle. - When the monster it is equipped to is used as a synchro material or is Tributed. - When the monster it is equipped to is banished for the summon of "Dragunity Arma Leyvaten". - When the monster it is equipped to leaves the field in any way and Aklys is not destroyed by the same effect at the same time. 5.13 Meklords Link: Wikia - rulings Skiel I found only Skiel rulings, the other ruling pages are empty. So what I state here is mostly due to common sense and/or testing with WC11. Especially #2 is often made wrong. 1) Meklord summons are a trigger effect, they can't be negated by "Solemn Judgement"/Thunder King/etc. 2) Meklords don't trigger when the destruction occurs in the damage step. So you can safly destroy a monster with Ryko/"Snowman Eater" who is attacked or with Catastor. 3) Meklords only trigger when the destruction is occurred due to a card effect. When the destruction occurred due to game mechanics such as not paying the maintenance costs for Koa'ki Meirus they don't trigger. 6. I saw some "Previously Official Rulings" on some of your links... Lets start this with a quote: In a general way you can now just call them "game guides". Unless Konami provides a different ruling you can safely assume that those are still valid and the card works like they say. Basically those are rulings before "Crimson Crises" who where not made by Konami.So you first search rulings outside of those light red boxes and if you don't find it there you can take those. Note however that even if there is no proper tcg ruling I'd take an ocg ruling which says otherwise than those previously rulings before them. 7. You used "banish"/some other words I've never heard of...? Link: Konami - new card text - Part1, Konami - new card text - Part2, Konami - new card text - Part3, Konami - new card text - Part4, Konami - new card text - Part5, Konami - new card text - Part6 To understand some words you might be not familiar with, just read the 4 articles linked above. It also provides some information of some strange card text you might have stumbled over by looking at later released cards.
  3. :evil: -----------------==--=--==----------------- and by unrelated case but similiar, with same reasons : THUNDER KING Rai-Ou / Black Horn or even SOLEMN JUDGEMENT also can NOT negate summon by other card effect -----------------==--=--==----------------- UPDATE: 14 Aug 2011 7:00 AM You can NOT use solemn warning on Fusion Gate activation Similiarly as, you can NOT Solemn Warning on Valhalla, Call of the Mummy, etc... activation Q: What about FUTURE FUSION then ? -----------------==--=--==----------------- UPDATE: 15 Aug 2011 14:00 Q: How About in case a special summon monster summoned via other monster effect like Gravekeeper's Spy, Mystic Tomato, and any Gladiator Beasts ? A: Same shit... it will miss the chance if you warning the summoned monster via other card effect. The only monster that you can warning is an Inherit summon itself (not by other card effect) like SYNCRO MONSTERS, XYZ monsters, Cyber Dragon, Gorz, Tragodeia, etc... You can safely use solemn warning those kind of Inherit special summon monsters (but not Rituals or Fusion summon monster itself, you have to negate the spell/trap card(s) not the monster) ++++++++++++++++++ Figured this would be helpful as many people I've dueled seem to not really get the concept of the key of timing.
  4. As you all know by now, from time to time I post Rulings here that I find interesting and figure most people may misunderstand the rulings on. In this case: Skill Drains effect says "Pay 1000 Life Points. The effects of all face-up Effect Monsters on the field are negated." Problem: Some body probably says hey that's negating the effect that only one Malefic monster can be on the field I can summon another one! Ruling: No you cannot. While it may be negating the effect of the one on the field, it is not negating the effect of the one in your hand and therefore the one in your hand is preventing itself from being summoned via it's own effect.
  5. Just some rules you may not know. If Skill Drain is activated while a monster is equipped to Morphtronic Vacuumen, the equipped monster is destroyed. If Skill Drain is activated while Black-Winged Dragon has Black Feather Counters, all those Counters are removed and the ATK of Black-Winged Dragon returns to its original value. Any monster that has had an atk/def increase due to a monster effect on the field gets set back to their original atk/def and it stays that way even if Skill Drain is destroyed. If “Trident Dragion” gains additional attacks, and then “Skill Drain” is activated later, it does not remove the additional attacks from “Trident Dragion.” If “Skill Drain” is activated after the effect of “Blackwing – Sirocco the Dawn” resolves, then the effect is not negated. The ATK boost remains, and the other monsters cannot attack this turn. If "Cyber Dragon Zwei" is being treated as "Cyber Dragon" by its own effect and "Skill Drain" is activated, the name is still treated as "Cyber Dragon. “Skill Drain” has no effect on “Level Warrior’s” Level, because “Level Warrior” is considered to already be on the field with the appropriate level. So “Skill Drain” will not cause “Level Warrior’s” Level to become 3. If the ATK of "Oracle of the Sun" is being doubled by "Supay" and "Skill Drain" is activated, the ATK remains doubled. If “Skill Drain” is activated after the effect of “Scanner” resolves, the effect of “Scanner” is still applied, and “Scanner” will still be removed from play if it leaves the field. If the effect of Splendid Rose activates and resolves, then Skill Drain or Forbidden Chalice is activated, the effect of Splendid Rose is not negated. It will be able to attack again. Blackwing - Silverwind the Ascendant: You can activate the effect to destroy monsters when this card is Synchro Summoned even if "Skill Drain" is active. If you do, you will not be able to conduct your Battle Phase, even though the effect is negated. Debris Dragon: All restrictions on “Debris Dragon” and Synchro Summons are conditions, not effects, so will [sic] not be negated by “Skill Drain”. Djinn Presider of Rituals: The effect to draw when the Ritual Monster destroys a monster by battle is applied even if "Skill Drain" is active. Djinn Releaser of Rituals: Even if "Skill Drain" is active, the opponent of the controller of the Ritual Monster this card was Tributed for that cannot Special Summon. Fishborg Blaster: The requirement that you use WATER-Attribute Synchro Material Monsters when using this monster for a Synchro Summon is a condition, not an effect. It cannot be negated by "Skill Drain". Majestic Dragon: The text of this card is not an effect. It cannot be negated by "Skill Drain". Mist Valley Thunderbird: The effect that prevents you from attacking with “Mist Valley Thunderbird” is part of the effect that Special Summons it. It is not negated by “Skill Drain.” Quickdraw Synchron: "You can substitute this card for any 1 "Synchron" Tuner for a Synchro Summon" is not an effect. It will not be negated by "Skill Drain". Quickdraw Synchron: "This card cannot be used as a Synchro Material Monster except for the Synchro Summon of a monster that lists a Synchron monster as a Tuner" is not an effect. It will not be negated by "Skill Drain". Trap Eater: If “Vanity’s Fiend” or “Fossil Dyna Pachycephalo” are on the field, but “Skill Drain” is preventing their effects from blocking Special Summons, you can Summon “Trap Eater” even by sending “Skill Drain” to the Graveyard. White Night Dragon: If you control your opponent's monster with "Snatch Steal" while you have "White Night Dragon" in play and your opponent attacks the equipped monster, if you send "Snatch Steal" to the Graveyard to change the attack target no replay occurs. If the effect of "White Night Dragon" is negated by "Skill Drain" a replay does occur. The effect of "Skill Drain" only negates the effects of face-up monsters. Thus, effects that activate in the Graveyard - like the effects of "Sangan" or "Pyramid Turtle" - are not negated by "Skill Drain". The effect of "Skill Drain" negates the effects of Effect Monsters; it does NOT prevent Effect Monsters from activating their effects. Thus, "Skill Drain" will not prevent you from activating the effects of "Exiled Force" or "Rescue Cat". Battle Fader: The effect of "Battle Fader" which Special Summons it and the effect which ends the Battle Phase are resolved as the same effect. The effect activates in the hand, so the effects of "Skill Drain" and "Shadow-Imprisoning Mirror" will not negate the effect even though "Battle Fader" is Special Summoned, so the effect which ends the Battle Phase will still be applied. White Night Dragon: While "Skill Drain" is active and you control your opponent's "White Night Dragon" because of "Snatch Steal", if your opponent attacks, then you can activate the effect of "White Night Dragon" and send "Snatch Steal" to the Graveyard. However, "White Night Dragon" will not change the attack target to itself because it changed sides. After this, a Replay occurs because the number of monster you control changed The effect of "Skill Drain" negates the effects of Effect Monsters that are face-up on the field. Thus, it cannot negate the effect of a monster if the monster is in the Graveyard when the monster's activated effect is resolving. "Exiled Force" and "Rescue Cat" Tributes itself or sends itself to the Graveyard as activation costs for their effects, so the monsters are in the Graveyard when their effects resolve. Thus, "Skill Drain" cannot negate their effects, so you will destroy the monster or Special Summon the Beast-Type monsters from your Deck Stardust Dragon: "Skill Drain" has no effect on "Stardust Dragon". For the first effect, Tributing "Stardust Dragon" is a cost, so "Stardust Dragon" is not on the field and is unaffected by "Skill Drain". The second effect activates in the Graveyard, so "Skill Drain" cannot negate it. Beast King Barbaros: If "Beast King Barbaros" Normal Summoned without Tributes and is then is targeted by the effect of "Blackwing - Gale the Whirlwind", then the ATK of "Beast King Barbaros" will become 950. If "Skill Drain" is activated later, then the ATK of "Beast King Barbaros" will remain at 950, the halved value set by the effect of "Blackwing - Gale the Whirlwind". Vice Dragon: "Skill Drain" will negate the effect of "Vice Dragon", and return its ATK/DEF to the printed values. If "Skill Drain" is later removed from the field or negated, then the ATK/DEF of "Vice Dragon" will not be halved again. Koa'ki Meiru: The text "During each of your Standby Phases, destroy this card unless you send 1 "Iron Core of Koa'ki Meiru" from your hand to the Graveyard." of "Koa'ki Meiru Valafar" is a Maintenance Cost. It cannot be negated by the effect of "Skill Drain", so you must still pay the Maintenance Cost during your Standby Phases. Dragunity Dux / Dragunity Legionnaire: Suppose that the effect of a monster like "Dragunity Dux" or "Dragunity Legionnaire" has its effect resolve and it equips itself with a Level 3 or lower "Dragunity" monster. If the effect of "Skill Drain" is then applied, then "Dragunity Dux" can no longer be equipped with a monster by its own effect, so the Level 3 or lower "Dragunity" monster equipped to it is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard. Obelisk the Tormentor: If "Obelisk the Tormentor" is Special Summoned and "Skill Drain" is activated during the same turn, then its effect will be negated and "Obelisk the Tormentor" will not be sent to the Graveyard during the End Phase. However, if "Skill Drain" is later destroyed, then "Obelisk the Tormentor" will be sent to the Graveyard during the End Phase. For more rulings on this card check out: http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Card_Rulings:Skill_Drain
  6. This ruling may surprise some people like Iki who has been misusing it. =P I thought it was right as well but turns out it isn't. 1. "You can substitute this card for any 1 "Synchron" Tuner for a Synchro Summon" is not an effect. It will not be negated by "Skill Drain". 2. "This card cannot be used as a Synchro Material Monster except for the Synchro Summon of a monster that lists a Synchron monster as a Tuner" is not an effect. It will not be negated by "Skill Drain". 3. The texts "If this card is used as a Synchro Material Monster, then you can substitute this card for any "Synchron" Tuner monster." and "This card can only be used for the Synchro Summon of a Synchro Monster that uses a "Synchron" Tuner monster." of "Quickdraw Synchron" are not treated as effects, so they will not negated by the effect of "Synchron Explorer". 4. The only effect of "Quickdraw Synchron" is its effect which Special Summons it. If "Skill Drain" is active or if "Forbidden Chalice" affects "Quickdraw Synchron", then the rest of the text of "Quickdraw Synchron" is still applied and is not negated. The last one was the one I thought needed pointing out as Synchron Explorer has often been used to bring back Quickdraw and then Synchro Stardust, but it turns out that his text is not an effect and thus it's not negated and therefore he cannot be used to Synchro Stardust. This ruling actually rather breaks most of the decks combo in which people use Quickdraw in sadly.
  7. Alright, due to a large amount of people not knowing how Xyz's, including myself, I decided to look up information on how the work and certain rulings to follow when using them. This is what I found. Important Notice: Xyz Monsters don't have Levels instead they have Ranks. This mean you can't use Xyz monsters when performing Synchro Summon, you can't use them when trying to perform Xyz Summon, and you can't use them when performing Ritual Summon. You can however use them when performing Fusion Summon. 1. Rulings state that "Xyz material monsters are not on the field". a. This means cards like Sangan and Goblin Zombie won't get their effects when detached from Xyz monster. b. This means cards like Plaguespreader Zombie and Quillbolt Hedgehog won't get banished. 2. Xyz Monters do not loose their Materials if they are flipped face-down. The materials will be kept attached. 3. Tokens can not be used as for an Xyz summon. 4. Trap Monsters such as Zoma The Spirit or Tiki Soul can be used for Xyz Summon. 5. Xyz Materials are not treated as monsters. a. If cards like "Dimensional Fissure" are face up on the field and a Xyz monster is removed from the field or Xyz Material is detached it won't be Banished instead the card will go to Graveyard. b. If cards like "Macro Cosmos" or "Banisher of the Radiance" are face-up on the field then Xyz Materials will get Banished if detached or if the Xyz Monster itself is removed from the field. c. If a Xyz Monster would be removed from play by cards like "Dimensional Prison" or "Bottomless Trap Hole" the Xyz Materials are still sent to grave. 6. If the Xyz Summon is negated, the Xyz Materials are already treated as being used as Xyz Materials, even though they are not "under" the Xyz Monster (which never gets to the Field anyway). Therefore monsters that were intended to be used as Xyz Materials will get sent to grave and any effects that would activate in that case would trigger. 7. If control of a Xyz monster is switched the materials move with it. 8. If you play "Monster Reborn" on a Xyz Monter it will come back without it's Materials. 9. If a Xyz Mosnter is removed from play by a card such as "Inter-dimensional Matter Transporter" It's Xyz Materials are sent to grave. When it comes back it's Materials remain in grave.
×
×
  • Create New...