How CRC helps?

professa X

SO i get the idea that it will help you verify if YOUR download was corrupted or not but how does it verify whether if the upload it self was corrupted to begin with? All you can say is that YOUR download is corrupted not the original copy. I mean the only way i can think of coming close to verifying if the original was error free is to do multiple downloads but even then that's not 100% perfect.

SO please give me the low down cuz i've never used the CRC before!

Edited by professa X

What exactly are you asking here? Whether the creators file was 'corrupt' or whether it got corrupted when uploading somewhere? In either case, it's up to the creator to use decent filesharing methods. For mass distribution, torrents or an XDCC bot with md5 and/or crc32 checksums enabled are really the only two worth considering. Also, if you're transferring files for mass distribution, use sftp or rsync.

What exactly are you asking here? Whether the creators file was 'corrupt' or whether it got corrupted when uploading somewhere? In either case, it's up to the creator to use decent filesharing methods. For mass distribution, torrents or an XDCC bot with md5 and/or crc32 checksums enabled are really the only two worth considering. Also, if you're transferring files for mass distribution, use sftp or rsync.

okay backgound: someone (hereby know as downloader) commented on a person (hereby known as uploader) upload page that the uploaded anime might be corrupted since the downloader's CRC check kept failing. S im thinking to my self how can you derive that conclusion. TO me it seems that all you can get from a CRC check is whether your download is good or not. Not if the original upload is good or not.

That doesn't answer the question. Does the creators checksum match that of the filename?

Besides that, people creating anime releases should be using AniDB. It saves time and effort.