Science Fiction (The lack there of)

ShadowInfiniti

Okay, I'm new here, but as a sci-fi writer I have a couple of questions about what people are looking for.

I'm among the many that decry the lack of good(or any) sci-fi on network television. A glance over the line ups suggests we only care about crime shows and their various subdivisions. Sci-fi shows are being canceled due to their occult, or drama counterparts. One of my personal favorites, Fringe, is also nearing it's final season.

All the mess ups in promotion by the networks aside, what is it about a sci-fi show that causes it to be canceled before it hits the ground? It's a popular genre among most people, but with the advent of the internet, it seems good shows that are very popular online are being canceled because of low Nielsen ratings. The ratings system works through television sets and is only recorded if you watch the show when it airs, online viewership isn't taken into account. If you can't change the system, then take advantage of it.

Science Fiction in literature and popular media has always had a responsibility to inspire great minds to create the things we now cherish. Star Trek and Star Wars boast a wealth of bright minds amongst it's fans.

But what made these shows and movies great, what is it about them that leaves us wanting for more. Waiting anxiously through the week for the next episode?

For me, it was the idea that they didn't dumb down the ideas for the viewers. Things work because, SCIENCE! We weren't subjected to hours of explanation. You could watch any episode of the original Star Trek without being lost, or feeling stupid.

So, what do you want from your science fiction? Adventure on the cosmic ocean? An advanced humanity surviving on an alternate version of Earth? Are we ambassadors to the stars? Conquerors? Both? Some of everything, or completely different ideas?

I would love any and all feedback.