Hosting my own E-mail server on a NAS/Residential Internet

Zemekis

Got a DS420+ NAS about a year ago and I've been taking on projects now & again since then to brush up on tech skills, or just try to do things I think are interesting. I've used email most of my life, but never given too much thought as to how it works until my boss a few years back mentioned that you can host your own e-mail server, though it may be a pain in the ass. I'm fairly privacy-conscious, but more than that, I hate Big Tech. When I heard that Google and the other big guys were openly admitting to training their A.I. using people's inboxes & Google Drive contents, I snapped and started working on my own email hosted on local-hardware I can unplug myself or drop a 10-pound magnet onto.

While Synology NAS boxes running recent DSM operating systems can run an Email Server & Mail Client, I had no idea what I was getting into and was a complete beginner to doing any sort of serious networking beyond some light Port Forwarding here and there years ago. As it turns out, Post 25 (used for SMTP) has been blocked by most residential ISPs since the 90's because it was such a common attack vector. One could easily spam across residential IPs on Port 25 and bombard their open mail port...the issue here is that a block on Port 25 interrupts SMTP email traffic in & out. I can't easily send and receive mail on a residential internet connection. That's where SMTP Outbound Relays and Reflectors come in. They do the same thing, but in different directions...and for some reason have different names (which made this hard to find). You can configure your e-mail server to send mail on a different port than 25, but other servers won't be listening for traffic on whichever random port you decide on...so you use a 'relay'. A service which you configure to listen to the port you choose to send e-mail on, then it passes along your e-mail on Port 25 so that your e-mail becomes deliverable to everyone else. The outbou