Anyone play Magic: the Gathering?

JCBeezy

Just wanted to check of course. :P I know how big YGO is with everyone and all, but I graduated from YGO to Magic when the Upper Deck/Konami mess happened a few years back, and really haven't looked back since. I haven't regretted it either!

If you do play, what formats do you enjoy? Standard? Legacy? The new Modern? Or casual formats like EDH? Cube-drafting?

I've only got one friend who has ever played it and he quit and gave me all his cards but never really explained the game. So without someone to play with I just never even bothered to learn the game, collect the cards, or anything. I ended up throwing away the cards he gave me later since I had absolutely no use for them and no one who wanted them. Now I just couldn't bother to care to try it out. Too much to do and too little time to learn something new and as for TCG's YGO takes care of that urge for me with DuelingNetwork to play against everyone online without having to spend money on cards.

I've only got one friend who has ever played it and he quit and gave me all his cards but never really explained the game. So without someone to play with I just never even bothered to learn the game, collect the cards, or anything. I ended up throwing away the cards he gave me later since I had absolutely no use for them and no one who wanted them. Now I just couldn't bother to care to try it out. Too much to do and too little time to learn something new and as for TCG's YGO takes care of that urge for me with DuelingNetwork to play against everyone online without having to spend money on cards.

Totally understandable. Magic, at one point, was actually financially more accessible than something like YGO, which required 150 dollar SCR's (Pot of Duality anyone?), but has since caught up to YGO in terms of investment to play. Magic currently has cards, outside of the 1000 dollar "Power Nine" pieces, that push 100 dollars and up, and it's just so unhealthy.