Recently Browsing 0 members
So I recently had an argument with a friend and I cant seem to find it on the net. So the scenario is that one person is attacking with a 5/5 green trample, and it is blocked by a 2/2 white. This 2/2 is then given protection from green, meaning that the green creature it is blocking cannot kill it. Does the trample damage get soaked up, trample over normally, or does it ignore the monster since it cant kill it and then trample all 5 damage over?
Well it came to my attention that some people have been misusing this card (including myself in the past) so I figured I should point out a few things to clarify.
Description: Activate only when an effect is activated that would destroy 2 or more cards you control. Negate the effect and destroy that card. Then, you can Special Summon 1 "Stardust Dragon" from your Extra Deck.
You can only Chain this card directly to the effect that would destroy 2 or more cards you control.
If you negate an effect with “Starlight Road” but cannot destroy the card, you cannot Special Summon “Stardust Dragon.”
If you Chain “Starlight Road” to “Heavy Storm” while you control 2 or more Spell or Trap Cards and Special Summon “Stardust Dragon” you cannot activate “Torrential Tribute” afterwards. Even though the effect of “Heavy Storm” is negated, the activation was not, so the card will still resolve without effect and you will miss the timing to activate “Torrential Tribute.”
If you control 2 face-up monsters including “Horus the Black Flame Dragon LV6” and your opponent activates “Lightning Vortex,” you can activate “Starlight Road.”
You can activate “Starlight Road” even if you cannot Special Summon due to the effect of “Vanity's Fiend.”
You can activate “Starlight Road” even if you don’t have a “Stardust Dragon” in your Extra Deck.
You cannot activate “Starlight Road” during the Damage Step.
You cannot Chain “Starlight Road” to the effect of “Elemental Hero Stratos” because it might not destroy any cards.
You cannot activate “Starlight Road” if your opponent activates “Crush Card Virus” while your only monsters are two facedown monsters with 1500 or more ATK.
Negating and destroying a card and Special Summoning “Stardust Dragon” do not happen at the same time. First you negate and destroy the card, then you Special Summon “Stardust Dragon.” If you don’t Special Summon, the effect of “Starlight Road” ends after negating and destroying the card.
You can Chain the effect of “Royal Oppression” to negate and destroy “Starlight Road.”
Special Summoning “Stardust Dragon” with “Starlight Road” is not a Synchro Summon. If that “Stardust Dragon” is later sent to the Graveyard, it cannot be Special Summoned by its own effect or “Call of the Haunted.”
The last one I put in bold as it is the most important and the reason I decided to make this thread. Like several people I thought Starlight Road meant the Stardust Dragon was summoned correctly and thus could work, but it just isn't so.
Just some rules you may not know.
If Skill Drain is activated while a monster is equipped to Morphtronic Vacuumen, the equipped monster is destroyed.
If Skill Drain is activated while Black-Winged Dragon has Black Feather Counters, all those Counters are removed and the ATK of Black-Winged Dragon returns to its original value.
Any monster that has had an atk/def increase due to a monster effect on the field gets set back to their original atk/def and it stays that way even if Skill Drain is destroyed.
If “Trident Dragion” gains additional attacks, and then “Skill Drain” is activated later, it does not remove the additional attacks from “Trident Dragion.”
If “Skill Drain” is activated after the effect of “Blackwing – Sirocco the Dawn” resolves, then the effect is not negated. The ATK boost remains, and the other monsters cannot attack this turn.
If "Cyber Dragon Zwei" is being treated as "Cyber Dragon" by its own effect and "Skill Drain" is activated, the name is still treated as "Cyber Dragon.
“Skill Drain” has no effect on “Level Warrior’s” Level, because “Level Warrior” is considered to already be on the field with the appropriate level. So “Skill Drain” will not cause “Level Warrior’s” Level to become 3.
If the ATK of "Oracle of the Sun" is being doubled by "Supay" and "Skill Drain" is activated, the ATK remains doubled.
If “Skill Drain” is activated after the effect of “Scanner” resolves, the effect of “Scanner” is still applied, and “Scanner” will still be removed from play if it leaves the field.
If the effect of Splendid Rose activates and resolves, then Skill Drain or Forbidden Chalice is activated, the effect of Splendid Rose is not negated. It will be able to attack again.
Blackwing - Silverwind the Ascendant: You can activate the effect to destroy monsters when this card is Synchro Summoned even if "Skill Drain" is active. If you do, you will not be able to conduct your Battle Phase, even though the effect is negated.
Debris Dragon: All restrictions on “Debris Dragon” and Synchro Summons are conditions, not effects, so will [sic] not be negated by “Skill Drain”.
Djinn Presider of Rituals: The effect to draw when the Ritual Monster destroys a monster by battle is applied even if "Skill Drain" is active.
Djinn Releaser of Rituals: Even if "Skill Drain" is active, the opponent of the controller of the Ritual Monster this card was Tributed for that cannot Special Summon.
Fishborg Blaster: The requirement that you use WATER-Attribute Synchro Material Monsters when using this monster for a Synchro Summon is a condition, not an effect. It cannot be negated by "Skill Drain".
Majestic Dragon: The text of this card is not an effect. It cannot be negated by "Skill Drain".
Mist Valley Thunderbird: The effect that prevents you from attacking with “Mist Valley Thunderbird” is part of the effect that Special Summons it. It is not negated by “Skill Drain.”
Quickdraw Synchron: "You can substitute this card for any 1 "Synchron" Tuner for a Synchro Summon" is not an effect. It will not be negated by "Skill Drain".
Quickdraw Synchron: "This card cannot be used as a Synchro Material Monster except for the Synchro Summon of a monster that lists a Synchron monster as a Tuner" is not an effect. It will not be negated by "Skill Drain".
Trap Eater: If “Vanity’s Fiend” or “Fossil Dyna Pachycephalo” are on the field, but “Skill Drain” is preventing their effects from blocking Special Summons, you can Summon “Trap Eater” even by sending “Skill Drain” to the Graveyard.
White Night Dragon: If you control your opponent's monster with "Snatch Steal" while you have "White Night Dragon" in play and your opponent attacks the equipped monster, if you send "Snatch Steal" to the Graveyard to change the attack target no replay occurs. If the effect of "White Night Dragon" is negated by "Skill Drain" a replay does occur.
The effect of "Skill Drain" only negates the effects of face-up monsters. Thus, effects that activate in the Graveyard - like the effects of "Sangan" or "Pyramid Turtle" - are not negated by "Skill Drain".
The effect of "Skill Drain" negates the effects of Effect Monsters; it does NOT prevent Effect Monsters from activating their effects. Thus, "Skill Drain" will not prevent you from activating the effects of "Exiled Force" or "Rescue Cat".
Battle Fader: The effect of "Battle Fader" which Special Summons it and the effect which ends the Battle Phase are resolved as the same effect. The effect activates in the hand, so the effects of "Skill Drain" and "Shadow-Imprisoning Mirror" will not negate the effect even though "Battle Fader" is Special Summoned, so the effect which ends the Battle Phase will still be applied.
White Night Dragon: While "Skill Drain" is active and you control your opponent's "White Night Dragon" because of "Snatch Steal", if your opponent attacks, then you can activate the effect of "White Night Dragon" and send "Snatch Steal" to the Graveyard. However, "White Night Dragon" will not change the attack target to itself because it changed sides. After this, a Replay occurs because the number of monster you control changed
The effect of "Skill Drain" negates the effects of Effect Monsters that are face-up on the field. Thus, it cannot negate the effect of a monster if the monster is in the Graveyard when the monster's activated effect is resolving. "Exiled Force" and "Rescue Cat" Tributes itself or sends itself to the Graveyard as activation costs for their effects, so the monsters are in the Graveyard when their effects resolve. Thus, "Skill Drain" cannot negate their effects, so you will destroy the monster or Special Summon the Beast-Type monsters from your Deck
Stardust Dragon: "Skill Drain" has no effect on "Stardust Dragon". For the first effect, Tributing "Stardust Dragon" is a cost, so "Stardust Dragon" is not on the field and is unaffected by "Skill Drain". The second effect activates in the Graveyard, so "Skill Drain" cannot negate it.
Beast King Barbaros: If "Beast King Barbaros" Normal Summoned without Tributes and is then is targeted by the effect of "Blackwing - Gale the Whirlwind", then the ATK of "Beast King Barbaros" will become 950. If "Skill Drain" is activated later, then the ATK of "Beast King Barbaros" will remain at 950, the halved value set by the effect of "Blackwing - Gale the Whirlwind".
Vice Dragon: "Skill Drain" will negate the effect of "Vice Dragon", and return its ATK/DEF to the printed values. If "Skill Drain" is later removed from the field or negated, then the ATK/DEF of "Vice Dragon" will not be halved again.
Koa'ki Meiru: The text "During each of your Standby Phases, destroy this card unless you send 1 "Iron Core of Koa'ki Meiru" from your hand to the Graveyard." of "Koa'ki Meiru Valafar" is a Maintenance Cost. It cannot be negated by the effect of "Skill Drain", so you must still pay the Maintenance Cost during your Standby Phases.
Dragunity Dux / Dragunity Legionnaire: Suppose that the effect of a monster like "Dragunity Dux" or "Dragunity Legionnaire" has its effect resolve and it equips itself with a Level 3 or lower "Dragunity" monster. If the effect of "Skill Drain" is then applied, then "Dragunity Dux" can no longer be equipped with a monster by its own effect, so the Level 3 or lower "Dragunity" monster equipped to it is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard.
Obelisk the Tormentor: If "Obelisk the Tormentor" is Special Summoned and "Skill Drain" is activated during the same turn, then its effect will be negated and "Obelisk the Tormentor" will not be sent to the Graveyard during the End Phase. However, if "Skill Drain" is later destroyed, then "Obelisk the Tormentor" will be sent to the Graveyard during the End Phase.
For more rulings on this card check out: http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Card_Rulings:Skill_Drain
This ruling may surprise some people like Iki who has been misusing it. =P I thought it was right as well but turns out it isn't.
1. "You can substitute this card for any 1 "Synchron" Tuner for a Synchro Summon" is not an effect. It will not be negated by "Skill Drain".
2. "This card cannot be used as a Synchro Material Monster except for the Synchro Summon of a monster that lists a Synchron monster as a Tuner" is not an effect. It will not be negated by "Skill Drain".
3. The texts " If this card is used as a Synchro Material Monster, then you can substitute this card for any "Synchron" Tuner monster." and " This card can only be used for the Synchro Summon of a Synchro Monster that uses a "Synchron" Tuner monster." of "Quickdraw Synchron" are not treated as effects, so they will not negated by the effect of "Synchron Explorer".
4. The only effect of "Quickdraw Synchron" is its effect which Special Summons it. If "Skill Drain" is active or if "Forbidden Chalice" affects "Quickdraw Synchron", then the rest of the text of "Quickdraw Synchron" is still applied and is not negated.
The last one was the one I thought needed pointing out as Synchron Explorer has often been used to bring back Quickdraw and then Synchro Stardust, but it turns out that his text is not an effect and thus it's not negated and therefore he cannot be used to Synchro Stardust. This ruling actually rather breaks most of the decks combo in which people use Quickdraw in sadly.
This came up in a duel between me and Bardon. Well it didn't actually happen but we were questioning it thinking it may... so I decided to ask DN staff about it.
Neo-Spacian Grand Mole
If this card battles with your opponent's monster, you can return both monsters to their owner's hands at the start of the Damage Step (without damage calculation).
Ally of Justice Catastor
If this card battles a non-DARK monster, destroy that monster without applying damage calculation.
On DN the effect is written a little different: If this card attacks or is attacked by a non-DARK monster, destroy that monster at the start of the Damage Step (without damage calculation).
Question: How would this play out if they battled? Would Mole get destroyed or would Mole return to hand and Catastor return to Extra Deck, or would Mole get destroyed and Catastor return to Extra Deck... etc?
Answer: Mole wins. Castator's effect is mandatory, while Mole's is optional (look at the text). So Catastor's mandatory effect goes first on the chain, and Mole's optional effect is second on the chain. As always the chain resolves backward.
Chain Link 1 - Catastor (mandatory)
Chain Link 2 - Grand Mole (optional)
Resolving backwards, Mole sends both monsters to the hand and Extra Deck respectively, then Catastor cannot destroy Mole because it is no longer on the field.