.hack// series

Fifilicious

So I wanted to start watching the .hack// series (I know there's a ton of them) but I heard from a friend that you need to watch the anime, read the manga and play the game to fully understand whats going on. If you do just one or two, you'll be completely lost. Problem is I'm not muxh of a gamer so I don't even own a system more recent then the Nintendo 64 and I'm not really into reading manga either. Can someone tell me if my friend is wrong? (Please let her be wrong)

I watched every single anime series for .hack before ever playing any of the games and I understood things alright.

I just started playing the .hack games (not the GU ones) recently and got to the 2nd game. It does explain a little more about Kite and BlackRose that you kind of found out about in the anime .hack//Legend of the Twilight but nothing that would make you actually not understand the plot.

So I say it's safe to watch them without any other media.

To watch the anime I suggest watching the series as follows:

.hack//SIGN

.hack//Intermezzo (considered episode 27 of SIGN)

.hack//UNISON (considered episode 28 of SIGN)

.hack//GIFT (considered episode 29 of SIGN but never dubbed)

.hack//LIMINALITY

.hack//LEGEND OF THE TWILIGHT

.hack//ROOTS

.hack//GU TRILOGY (based on the GU games, but that is similar to ROOTS and with same characters)

• 10 months later...
To watch the anime I suggest watching the series as follows:

.hack//SIGN

.hack//Intermezzo (considered episode 27 of SIGN)

.hack//UNISON (considered episode 28 of SIGN)

.hack//GIFT (considered episode 29 of SIGN but never dubbed)

.hack//LIMINALITY

.hack//LEGEND OF THE TWILIGHT

.hack//ROOTS

.hack//GU TRILOGY (based on the GU games, but that is similar to ROOTS and with same characters)

Yup, that's the correct way to watch.

I watched everything in the right order, but I haven't watched GIFT, LIMINALITY, or GU Trilogy yet.